

## From Your Executive Director Speak up for

townships' fair share

OR THE PAST 34 YEARS, NATaT (National Association of Towns and Townships) has been the voice of "grassroots government" in Washington, D.C. Many of you have heard me "preach" that it is important for townships to have a presence in Washington, D.C. and it is very important for all Illinois township officials to be involved with the national association (NATaT).

I try as much as possible to remind our members of the importance of educating members of Congress about the realities of township government. Some of our Illinois Congressmen are former township officials themselves, but it never hurts to remind them. This is no different than what we do at the state level when informing members of the Illinois General Assembly about what township government is doing.

NATaT is managed by The Ferguson Group, a Washington, D.C.-based lobbying organization that specializes in local government issues. Currently, there are a couple of very important legislative issues we need to be talking to our Congressmen about.

NATaT supports the Local Fiscal Assistance Act (H.R. 3007), which would establish a Local Fiscal Assistance Trust Fund and make direct payments to units of local government in support of priority community needs. H.R. 3007 would provide townships

with a direct, flexible source of federal assistance to provide essential services, create jobs, and improve infrastructure in their communities. H.R. 3007 is modeled after the successful General Revenue Sharing program established in the early 1970s that ended in the mid 1980s.

The Local Jobs for America Act (H.R. 4812) that incorporates many of those principles could also be improved by adopting the distribution formula included in H.R. 3007. While H.R. 4812 will provide funding directly to large communities, smaller townships will be forced to apply to state governments for funding, making it difficult for communities with limited staff and resources to access this badly needed funding. Make sure you contact your member of Congress and ask for their support of H.R. 3007 and H.R. 4812, with the distribution formula contained in H.R. 3007, which will provide direct funding to smaller communities, including townships. Following this article is a listing of the names, addresses and emails of the Illinois delegation in Congress. Contact them and tell them townships need their fair share!

Also, later this year, Sept. 15-17, NATaT will hold its annual conference in Washington, D.C. Look for conference information later on in future issues of *Township Perspective*. This will be the perfect oppor-



US Senators and Representatives		
Senator Richard J. Durbin 309 Hart Senate Office Building Washington, DC 20510 Phone – 202/224-2152 Fax – 202/228-0400 http://durbin.senate.gov	Senator Roland Burris 523 Dirksen Senate Office Building Washington, DC 20510 Phone – 202/224-2854 Fax – 202/228-3333 senator_rolandburris@burris.senate.gov	<b>Representative Bobby L. Rush</b> 1st Congressional District 2416 Rayburn House Office Building Washington, DC 20515 Phone – 202/225-4372 Fax – 202/226-0333 www.house.gov/rush
Representative Jesse Jackson, Jr.	<b>Representative Daniel Lipinski</b>	<b>Representative Luis V. Gutierrez</b>
2nd Congressional District	3rd Congressional District	4th Congressional District
2419 Rayburn House Office Building	1717 Longworth House Office Building	2266 Rayburn House Office Building
Washington, DC 20515	Washington, DC 20515	Washington, DC 20515
Phone – 202/225-0773	Phone – 202/225-5701	Phone – 202/225-8203
Fax – 202/225-0899	Fax – 202/225-1012	Fax – 202/225-7810
http://www.house.gov/jackson	http://lipinski.house.gov	http://luisgutierrez.house.gov
Representative Mike Quigley	Representative Peter Roskam	Representative Danny K. Davis
5th Congressional District	6th Congressional District	7th Congressional District
1319 Longworth House Office Building	507 Cannon Office Building	2159 Rayburn House Office Building
Washington, DC 20515	Washington, DC 20515	Washington, DC 20515
Phone – 202/225-4061	Phone – 202/225-4561	Phone – 202/225-5006
Fax – 202/225-5603	Fax – 202/225-1166	Fax – 202/225-5641
http://quigley.house.gov/	http://roskam.house.gov	http://davis.house.gov
Representative Melissa Bean	<b>Representative Janice D. Schakowsky</b>	Representative Mark Kirk
8th Congressional District	9th Congressional District	10th Congressional District
318 Cannon House Office Building	2367 Rayburn House Office Building	1030 Longworth House Office Building
Washington, DC 20515	Washington, DC 20515	Washington, DC 20515
Phone – 202/225-3711	Phone – 202/225-2111	Phone – 202/225-4835
Fax – 202/225-7830	Fax – 202/226-6890	Fax – 202/225-0837
www.house.gov/bean	www.house.gov/schakowsky	www.house.gov/kirk
<b>Representative Deborah Halverson</b>	<b>Representative Jerry Costello</b>	<b>Representative Judy Biggert</b>
11th Congressional District	12th Congressional District	13th Congressional District
1541 Longworth House Office Building	2408 Rayburn House Office Building	1034 Longworth House Office Building
Washington, DC 20515	Washington, DC 20515	Washington, DC 20515
Phone – 202/225-3635	Phone – 202/225-5661	Phone – 202/225-3515
Fax – 202/225-3521	Fax – 202/225-0285	Fax – 202/225-9420
http://halvorson.house.gov	http://costello.house.gov	http://judybiggert.house.gov
Representative Bill Foster	<b>Representative Timothy Johnson</b>	<b>Representative Donald Manzullo</b>
14th Congressional District	15th Congressional District	16th Congressional District
1339 Longworth House Office Building	1207 Longworth House Office Building	2228 Rayburn House Office Building
Washington, DC 20515	Washington, DC 20515	Washington, DC 20515
Phone – 202/225-2976	Phone – 202/225-2371	Phone – 202/225-5676
Fax – 202/225-0697	Fax – 202/226-0791	Fax – 202/225-5284
http://foster.house.gov	www.house.gov/timjohnson	http://manzullo.house.gov
<b>Representative Phil Hare</b>	<b>Representative Aaron Schock</b>	<b>Representative John Shimkus</b>
17th Congressional District	18th Congressional District	19th Congressional District
428 Cannon House Office Building	509 Cannon House Office Building	2452 Rayburn House Office Building
Washington, DC 20515	Washington, DC 20515	Washington, DC 20515
Phone – 202/225-5905	Phone – 202/225-6201	Phone – 202/225-5271
Fax – 202/225-5396	Fax – 202/225-9249	Fax – 202/225-5880
http://hare.house.gov	http://schock.house.gov	www.house.gov/shimkus

tunity for us to remind members of Congress of the importance of township government in this country. Stay tuned for further details, but put the event on your calendar and in your budget now.

Township officials must recognize that decisions made every day in Washington, D.C. affect people in every township in Illinois. NATaT is going to continue to be our township voice in Washington, D.C., but we all must do our part to protect and strengthen township government!

Bujan E. Jun